Any brassiere in a storm (I mean election)

I’m still stunned and virtually speechless, drooling on the couch trying to figure out how someone with less experience than many of the women I ‘ve worked with in my life has ended up one cancer cell away from the presidency.  I almost want to send an apology note to Condoleeza Rice, Kay Bailey Hutchison, Elizabeth Dole, Christine Todd  Whitman, and all the rest of intelligent, talented, competent and experienced Republican women passed by,  even though I had nothing to do with Governor Palin’s selection.

So here’s a read from Salon that I liked. It articulates things rolling around in my mind better than I could. I especially like the point-those of us who were Hillary supporters were admirerers of her knowledge, her experience, her political ideaology, not her vagina. It is insulting at best to think any woman would do, and especially a conservative, right-wing, anti-choice, doesn’t believe in global warming, wants to teach creationism in schools, gun toting, former mayor of a town smaller than my backyard woman. We may have wished Sen. Obama had picked Senator Clinton as veep, but we are not stupid. It’s about the brain not the bustline Senator McCain.

Not a big Reagan fan myself, but since he seems to be the voice everyone in the Republican party likes to turn to for wisdom and insight- let’s look back in history.

From Salon

Looking back on the Ferraro nomination, another well-known conservative wrote: “I believe that someday we are going to have a woman president, possibly during my life, and I’ve often thought the best way to pave the way for this was to first nominate and elect a woman as vice-president. But I think Mondale made a serious mistake when he picked Geraldine Ferraro as his running mate. In my view, he guessed wrong in deciding to take a congresswoman that almost nobody had ever heard of and try to put her in line for the presidency … I don’t know who among the Democrats might have been a better choice, but it was obvious Mondale picked Geraldine Ferraro simply because he believed there was a ‘gender gap’ where I was concerned and she was a woman.”

Those are the words of Ronald Reagan in his 1991 memoir, “An American Life,” pouring scorn on the nomination of a woman who had served six years in Congress working on foreign policy issues. In retrospect, he had a point. Only this Palin gambit could make the Ferraro mistake look responsible and wise.

http://www.salon.com/opinion/conason/2008/08/30/palin/

Perhaps the Gipper was right.

0 Responses to “Any brassiere in a storm (I mean election)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Posts

site stats

